2004 f50 no start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2004 f50 no start

hey yall, I'm very new to boating and I'm really hoping to get some help here. I purchased a boat with an 04 Yamaha 4 cylinder 4 stroke 50 horse which I believe is an f50? the previous owner had loads of receipts from gauge work to carb rebuilds to the prop and cover. He said second run of the year it just wouldn't start and that is how I purchased it. It has the safety switch attached, new gas, fuel lines, primer bulb, fuel from fuel pump, spark, 170psi compression in neutral and a new battery. Can anyone lead me to the next step here, or am I bound to go to the Yamaha dealer? thanks in advance!

also, as I read I'm learning of a control panel? might there be fuses or something on the boat? ill keep scanning the manual

Comment

If its sat for any lenth of time, the carb(s) are very likely clogged up.

It doesn't take a month for un-treated ethonol to goo it up..

If your somewhat mechanically inclined, you can pull the carbs, the float bowls and clean the jets.

There should also be a tag with a model # like F40xt..

That will allow you to bring up the carb parts fisch
      and see where their located, etc...

A shop manual wouldn't hurt and some knowledge of carbs would be helpful..

IE: http://www.boats.net/parts/search/Ya...TOR/parts.html
      Last edited by TownsendsFJR1300; 07-22-2016, 07:14 PM.
      Scott
      1997 Angler 204, Center Console powered by a 2006 Yamaha F150TXR

Comment

Is it a no crank or a no start issue. I can't tell.

Comment

Originally posted by boscoe99 View Post
          Is it a no crank or a no start issue. I can't tell.
          170 PSI compression, it should be cranking, I suspect no start..
          Scott

Comment

no start. itll crank all day but it wont even hit a lick. I cant see it being a carb problem, I drained the bowls and I would think it would at least hick up

Comment

Originally posted by rammunition361 View Post