Trim display not functioning on F115AETX

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trim display not functioning on F115AETX

I have finally gotten round to looking at an annoying problem I have with my Yamaha F115AETX (2005 model). A while ago the potentiometer (trim feedback)on the leg seized up. Thinking that cleaning it up and putting it back would solve the problem. No way. The pot which is a two wire version has a ohm range of 415 to 115 ohms, but the display wont move till there is less than 149 ohms from the pot. At 149 ohms the leg is all the way down. I have done some checks on the back of the display and have found that for the bar graph to display no bars (leg at full trim down) it would need a resistance of 9.5 ohms. This seems way too low. I dont have access to another display unit, and from the cost of the darn thing I hope that its not at fault. Is there anyone with inside knowledge who can point me in the right direction. I'm an electronics tech!
    Merry Christmas
    Robin from down under
    Forgot to mention, the display is the multi function dude, tacho,trim,oil and temp warning.
    Last edited by rwells9999; 12-23-2007, 09:09 PM.

We just run a jumper wire from pink trim signal wire on gauge to ground(on a 2 wire trim sender system), with key on trim gauge should read full trim. If the gauge reads full then sender is probably bad.
    Regards
    Boats.net
    Yamaha Outboard Parts

Comment