Welding of cylinder block

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Welding of cylinder block

I would like to heat the whole 2 stoke block in an electrical oven before the welding of a fracture. Does anyone know how high temperature can be used without ruining the small oil valves in the block? Are the valves completely made of metal?

If someone has a block that can not be used any more I would be interested in buying spare valves just in case... Please let me know. Please don't reply saying that the block can not be welded

I have some experience with welding these metals. I have welded on these outboard motors but never on the block itself. The aluminum / zinc rods work very well and are actually stronger that the base metal. I'm not quite sure why you want to heat the whole block. More important to slow the cooling process.
    gene
    19.6' Predator, 90(?) Yamaha 150 ETLD, Stock in every way, Water pressure Gauge, Runs great, Lots of PM, Salt water operation. Aircraft mechanic..

Comment

Hi. Thanks for your reply. I'm using a computer con*****ed double pulse machine with AlSi5 wire, not TIG so we have different welding processes. I mostly believe in wires that make a weld that has a lower yield strength than the base material. If the yield strength of the weld is greater than that of the base material it is usually more likely that the weld cracks in the heat affected zone (under fatique stress). Sorry this is so difficult for me to write about because English is not my language. I heat up the blocks to decrease the temperature gradient in the specific area. I have different welding programs in the computer for different temperatures. If the temperature gradient was zero, the structure would not change it's dimensions at all and there would not be left any tension in the cooling weld -> no cooling worries. But I don't try to say that I'm right and someone else is not.