• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• no fire

Just bought a yamaha I think a 115 hp
    the plate says yamaha 115ETLG
    6E5 L 382694

Does anyone know the age of this motor and what would make the firing stop on all cylinders at once. Went to crank and none of the cylinders fired.

Any help would be appreciated. The book does not have anything on firing stopping on all cylinders at once

I'm a newbie here so all help would be helpful

Alton

stop lanyard shorted, disconnect the white wire at the CDI and retest.
    low speed charge coil shorted or open.
    use a DVM with a DVA and test the low speed charge coil output voltage both loaded and unloaded.
    CDI not grounded.
    both pulser coils failed at the same time.

CDI failed.
    perform the above tests first.

Comment

1988 model year motor. Parts can be found here

1988 115ETLG Yamaha Outboard Parts

What rodbolt calls the stop lanyard some folks will refer to as the kill switch. Might be on a panel next to the key switch or might be on a control box that has an integral kill switch. If the lanyard is pulled a switch closes and grounds the ignition system. In which case there will be no spark. Same as when the key is turned off. A different switch closes but does the exact same thing.

When you say none of the cylinders fired I presume that you are talking about none of the spark plugs are sparking. No fuel will cause the cylinders to not fire.

Here is a link to an owners manual for your model. Look at page 2-7. It describes the stop lanyard aka kill switch.

http://www.yamaha-motor.com/assets/s...-02-91_628.pdf

Comment

no fire

went out pumped the fuel bulb found it was not pumping up tight, changed the fuel line and pumped it up real tight fired right up.

thanks for the help.

first I've ran into to have to have fuel to make plugs fire.

Comment

spark plugs will spark, but cylinders will not fire if there is the wrong amount of fuel and air in them

Comment