f25 blowby

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• f25 blowby

I'm new to the outboard world. I have a 2004 F25AET on a tender that I just bought. I did some standard maintenance to it but when ran it and pulled the dipstick while running at idle, air came shooting out with a lot of pressure with a little oil.
    Any recommendations on this? Thanks in advance.

I believe all 4 strokes will blow oil if dipstick is removed while running.

Comment

Blowby is indicative of insufficient sealing of the piston rings. Might be worth your while to seriously decarbon your motor. Better still, have a dealer do it using Yamaha's Internal Engine Cleaner. It is the cats meow when it comes to removing carbon buildup.

Comment

pull the dip stick while running.
        why?????

if the engine is running and you pull the dipstick you get air.
        now the crankcase is venting via the dipstick hole rather than the vent hose assy.
        kinda like a local boat rental company. added oil to an F50.
        forgot to put the oil fill cap back.
        rented the boat.
        had the boat towed back.
        all the engine oil had evacuated via the fill port and the engine was locked.

then they asked if warrenty would cover it.

does your engine have issues or was that normal venting?

dunno.

now would be a good time for a leakdown test.

just as in a two stroke,as the piston travels up air must take its place,that air is now displaced when the piston heads down.

Comment

Just the piston(s) going up and down will cause positive and negative pressures in the crankcase.

There should be a vent tube into the "air silencer" from the crankcase. If there's excessive oil blowing out of there, there's issues...

Search Leak Down test. With a small air compressor and the tool, if the compression rings are leaking, the tool will show a percentage of how healthy the engine is.