Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RPMs, Bow Angle, and Fuel Economy

Here's one for y'all intellectuals to mull over:

RPMs are directly proportional to increasing the throttle, and fuel economy has a disproportional response to the same increase in throttle. On plane at a steady 2500 rpms, you increase throttle to hold steady at 3000 rpms. The result is you reduced fuel economy.

Here's my question:

On plane at a steady 3500 rpms, you increase your bow angle. What results is less drag and a corresponding increase in rpms. You did not increase throttle, yet you increased rpms. What fuel economy response do you expect?

Does fuel economy remain consistent with the throttle position at 3500 rpms?
    Does fuel economy increase because of less load?
    Does fuel economy decrease because rpms increased?
    Jason
    1998 S115TLRW + 1976 Aquasport 170

I'm no intellectual - nor have I studied / thought much about theory of naturally aspirated internal combustion engines

but we have all seen evidence that "load" on the engine factors into fuel consumption

the example that comes to mind is often seen in forums like this:

someone reports that there engine will not reach desired rpms - often "not even plane" -

but that "it will easily rev to 6,000 rpms in neutral"

and the underlying issue is a severe restriction to fuel flow such as clogged HP pump filter

Comment

Here's the Yamaha tech bulletin for my boat / engine combo which is VERY accurate (just came in from a 35 mile run):

You can compare MPH, vs GPH, etc.

Today:

Scott
      1997 Angler 204, Center Console powered by a 2006 Yamaha F150TXR

Comment

Looks like that boat gets on plane between 3,000 and 3,500 rpm. Look at that difference in MPH, (almost 2X). Great difference in MPG at those RPM's as well (2 MPG).