skeg protector for F30?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• skeg protector for F30?

Hi fellas, newbie here. I have a 2013 F30 that I would like to add a skeg protector to. All I find jump from 25hp to 40hp and skip the 30hp models. Any idea of a source, or if the 40 might fit. thanks Richard

Why Bother

I see them time from to time and are a waste of time and money and increase drag in most cases..................

Comment

You also increase the possibility of breaking your skeg off at an area that can't be fixed (welded). Skeg protectors are a total scam. The skeg is a sacrificial unit and needs to be able to break off as designed to save the rest of the LU. If it breaks off to close to the gearcase, it may not be able to be fixed. The skeg protector, because of the holes drilled in the skeg and the harder material of the protector, will transfer more impact closer to the gearcase.
      2000 Yamaha OX66 250HP SX250TXRY 61AX103847T
      1982 Grady Weekender/Offshore (removed stern drive & modded to be an OB)

Comment

That's a pretty broad generalization, Dennis

I'm not saying your wrong,
        but I can't help but be skeptical that Yamaha (or any outboard manufacturer)
        has so highly engineered that extension of the casting that is always sacrifices itself in the right way,
        at the right place,
        regardless of the potentially varied conditions under which it might touch an obstruction.

Further, if an incident occurs where some part of the original skeg is broken off
        - will whoever is doing the repair to make it "look original"
        actually be able to match the original "magic"?

It just seems to me that while the value of installing an aftermarket item on an undamaged "original" skeg is of dubious value -

have they not some usefulness as a means to "restore" an already broken skeg?

Comment

skeg

a badly broken skeg rarely affects anything,,cept your pride !!

Comment