2006 90hp F90TLR fuel injector problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2006 90hp F90TLR fuel injector problem

Brought my pontoon boat a few weeks ago to my local marina mechanics due to a no start problem. 2 months previous, they had cleaned the VST tank, the filters associated with it and a basic cleaning of the fuel injectors. The boat ran OK for 3 weeks but with loss of top speed RPM from around 5500 to 4500. I tried to deal with it figuring I would get it straightened out after fall fishing was over.
    The motor after 3 weeks was running more and more erratic until 6 weeks later when I encountered a no start condition.
    I initially thought it might be a fuel supply issue and after searching this forum for clues I ruled out obstruction in the fuel pickup line, had the right vacuum before the low pressure fuel pump and had the right pressure after the low pressure fuel pump and I changed all filters according to the Yamaha service manual. I'm just learning and I didn't go any further and I finally took it back to my mechanics.
    They diagnosed it as a high pressure fuel pump failure, they replaced it and the fuel pressure regulator. I figured great --- problem solved. I got a call today saying that they have the right pressure going to the fuel rail, they have spark, but still a no start condition. They told me they sent the 4 injectors out for a thorough cleaning, got them back, but the injectors won't fire even when bench tested with voltage, implying that I need new injectors.
    My question are: What are the odds that all 4 injectors would fail in this way at the same time? If they did, what could have caused such a failure?

Originally posted by Ferris11 View Post
    They told me they sent the 4 injectors out for a thorough cleaning, got them back, but the injectors won't fire even when bench tested with voltage, implying that I need new injectors.