fuel water separator filters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fuel water separator filters

Outside of the Micron rating (my manual specifies 10 microns for my 225 4 stroke) is there any difference in the size of the filter or brand? I saw a large Sierra (model 18-7866) and a smaller version same brand. Also a large Racor with a plastic bowl on the bottom (model 320-rac-01) which specifies for outboard engines only. I was under the impression that you can't use plastic bowls with gas.

While I'm relatively new to outboards, I've been around boasts with diesel engines for the past 25 years and am surprised to see few if any separators with bowls so you can see any water.

Originally posted by captn tj View Post
    Outside of the Micron rating (my manual specifies 10 microns for my 225 4 stroke) is there any difference in the size of the filter or brand? I saw a large Sierra (model 18-7866) and a smaller version same brand. Also a large Racor with a plastic bowl on the bottom (model 320-rac-01) which specifies for outboard engines only. I was under the impression that you can't use plastic bowls with gas.

While I'm relatively new to outboards, I've been around boasts with diesel engines for the past 25 years and am surprised to see few if any separators with bowls so you can see any water.
    The size of the filter determines the amount of fuel that can flow through at a given rate while not having more than XYZ pressure drop. It can also capture more debris for a longer period of time before it needs to be replaced.

As you note, there are filters with no bowls and there are filters with bowls. Metal and plastic bowls. If a plastic bowl is used it has to meet a fire test requirement if the bowl is used on an inboard powered boat. As far as I know there are no plastic bowls that meet the fire test. So, the plastic bowls are OK to use with an outboard motor (above or below deck) but are not approved for use with an inboard or I/O powered boat.