Buy Yamaha Outboard Parts

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yamaha 90 2 stroke. Relay/starter? Help…

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yamaha 90 2 stroke. Relay/starter? Help…

I have a (2006) Yamaha 90 horse 2 stroke. I may or may not have shorted something. Symptoms, starter relay does fast clicking when trying to start, almost like it’s tripping. When disconnecting starter from power the relay operates properly. So it appears like the starter is shorted out and doesn’t allow the relay to stay on. I’m new at all this but I’m trying. I hate to throw parts at it. Everything else works. Gauges trim tilt. Etc. any advice?

It sounds to me like a voltage drop issue. Do you know what that is? Can you read a wiring diagram?

Comment

Test the battery on a load tester (most auto part stores will do that for you, but the battery needs to be fully charged)
      and make sure those battery cable connections are clean and tight and other connections in the circuit also.
      bad connections will cause this type of problem and a bad cell in battery

Comment

Bought a new battery assuming it was that. Just now used jumper cables from the battery to starter itself. It didn’t engage starter at all. A little spark when touching terminal on starter. But I assumed it would spin at least. ? Maybe it is the starter.

Comment

clean the negative connections also

just because you put a new battery in does not mean the cables and connections are all good.
          voltage reading should help when loaded to find the problem

Comment

Thank you. I will definitely inspect and clean the connections. I did think it was odd when reading the voltage to the relay it was 12+ volts yet when reading the voltage on the cable at the starter (unhooked) the cable was 11 something.

Comment

I have seen the cables themselves be a problem before, so voltage readings are a good thing.

if all checks out OK, with that said a bad starter can drag down the voltage

Comment