2007 F200TXR - Telltale Blocked

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2007 F200TXR - Telltale Blocked

I bought this boat 2 years ago and taken care of the regular maintenance like oil and fuel filters myself because I'm an engineer and mechanically inclined. I've read as many forums, part diagrams, and watched enough youtube videos, but I'm stuck. We went up river and got stuck with the tides. Sucked up a bunch of sand. Newbie mistake, but live and learn. As soon as we got free, the telltale stopped telling. No water whatsoever. Zero issues running at any speed and zero alarms.

Things I've done:
    1. Cleaned the intake screen on the lower unit. 2. Replaced the impeller and housing. Lots of sand stuck here. 3. Opened up the thermostat housings and installed new thermostats. Interesting, there were none existing. The passages had some rust, which was concerning. 4. Replaced the pressure control valve. 5. Cleaned the telltale pipe from the outlet up to the VST (I think?).

Before going to the ramp to test it out, I hit the telltale with some compressed air and didn't seem to get any blockage because air seems to flow. Started it up, and got a good stream for about 5 seconds then it went back to a very fast drip. When the motor was running I disconnected the flush port hose fitting and saw a strong stream of hot water. So whatever is upstream of that is clear.

What else can I open up to check before I BOAT to the shop?

hook up muffs and motor flush to water hoses ,

turn on water full blast
    crank up motor and run at high idle
    blow compressed air up the tell tail from time to time to see if you can get the sand to move around and on out of the motor

I have removed the lower unit ,
    hooked up a water hose to the pipe up to power head,
    removed the stats leaving the covers off
    rigged up a way to inject compressed air into the water hose
    turned on water full blast