Buy Yamaha Outboard Parts

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yamaha Vmax 150 powertrim troubleshooting?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yamaha Vmax 150 powertrim troubleshooting?

Hello all,
    Im new to boating and need some help .

early spring Last year I bought a 2003 wellcraft 180 sportsman.
    Its powered by a Yamaha 150 Vmax V150TLRB.

Just before the season ended I had tilt problems, when it
    was winerized I had the mechanics look at it. According to the shop to left of the fill plug there
    was a screw that the threads were coroded and hydrolic fluid was leaking out. As they just
    also surprised me with a "your lower end is shot" news I couldn't afford any more
    repairs and said guys, there isn't something that you can do? Few weeks later I picked up
    the boat with the new lower and they said they drilled the threads out, re-taped it and put a bigger plug in...

1st time out this season The trim wont lift the engine. I pulled the boat
    out , and looks like there was plenty of fluid. Hitting the trim switch, the
    trim motor runs, but just doesn't develop enough power to lift the motor

Any suggestions on what parts may have went ? could the filings from the mechanic
    drilling, and tapping have screwed something up?

lastly, where is a good place to find the parts ??

Thanks so much in advance! !

Purchasing parts is as close as this page. Look above to the right side, in RED, "Purchase Yamaha Parts".

I'd be knocking on the mechainics door myself...
    Scott
    1997 Angler 204, Center Console powered by a 2006 Yamaha F150TXR

Comment

Thanks for that, but its what part might
      it be? Im reasonably mechanicaly inclined but havent ever workd on anything boating related before. Plus I just dont see from the pdf parts diagrams what I need to zero in on.. I know enough to always get advice from seasoned mechanics beforehand...
      Last edited by Newboatingdude; 05-24-2015, 05:28 PM.

Comment