2007 yamaha 90 two stroke water pump impeller

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2007 yamaha 90 two stroke water pump impeller

I just replaced my water pump on my 2007 yamaha 90 two stroke engine. the boat has been sitting for about 7-8 months. when i replaced the water pump and started the engine, it take about 2 minutes for the engine to produce the water stream out of the stream hole. the stream of water is not as fast as i think it should be and it sometimes gets weaker. I know the water should pour out of the stream hole at a constant rate but it is not. What could be the problem??? when i placed the impeller housing over the impeller, i turned the impeller blades counter clockwise. is this correct?? I also made sure the that the water line is free of degree. Please help. after several startups, i have the water shooting out at a constant stream but not with a lot of pressure behind it. I'm new to boats so I could be overreacting about this whole situation. any help would be appreciated. I have a video but do not know how to upload it to the site.

Maybe remove/inspect/clean or replace the thermostat and pressure control valve located under that small square plate at top/back of powerhead(held on by four 10mm hex head bolts)....easy to do...You can clean these parts in a mild acid and toothbrush and replace if they're just stuck with deposits...

Comment

thanks Robert, do you have any pictures of this process??

Comment

Just remove upper cowling, stand behind motor, look at near top of powerhead, see 4 hex bolts in a square pattern holding on a small aluminum plate....thermostat and pressure control valve plunger/spring/grommet is under that cover....carefully pry these items out for inspection/cleaning....not much to it. Sorry I don't have photos but doubtful you'll need them. These items and your water pump are all working parts of your cooling system...

Comment

also drop the lower and reinstall the impeller correctly.