Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yamaha F100 stator testing...

Hi,
    Recently the rectifier/regulator went up in smoke on my F100, total meltdown, etc. So after removing it, I've been testing the stator output, and according to the manual, it should be 18v AC at 3500rpm from any two wires(there are three in the connector). When I hook up my DVM, I get about 65v AC at 3500rpm. And upon further reading, it appears that I should be testing with the R/R in place and using a test harness to measure peak voltage DC? But if I put the burnt R/R back in place, I believe I'll get more smoke and flames?

So this is not good, but I'm no mechanic, just a guy trying to save a few bucks. This F100 has well over 1200 hours on it, carbs are a perpetual problem, and the thing makes oil like no other. Don't have the bucks to repower, so keeping it running is my only option.

Assuming the stator has gone bad, is this something a guy with average tools can replace? I'm thinking that I may get a marine shop to just remove the flywheel, as I have no puller, etc.

And, after removing the regulator and replacing the 30A fuse, it seems to run fine, as long as I have a charged battery. From what I've learned, this F100 should run fine with no rectifier/regulator, as it's only used to provide charging and house power. Any reason to think otherwise? I've made a few short trips in this configuration, haven't noticed any issues yet.

thanks for any help,
    Jeff

The F100 rectifier/regulator is known to be problematic.

There is no known repair to a burned R/R. Why not just buy a replacement (a much improved component) and move on with life.

Be glad the R/R did not take out the CDI and other expensive stuff with it.

Comment

Jeff,

Just a couple of friendly tips...

Re tools/ pullers- If your in the US, alot of auto parts stores will lend you the
      tools/pullers, no charge, just a deposite.

Re the carbs-Todays fuel (ethonol is crap). You must use a fuel