Air pilot screws/please someone clear up the confusion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Air pilot screws/please someone clear up the confusion

Ok, I have been working on outboards for about 25 years and now I have some confusion. I purchased a 2007 25 hp 2 stroke yamaha msh and it had the EPA covers on the air pilot screws, which is similar to the mixture screws on my evinrudes and johnsons. But there is something a little different. First let me say, the epa caps and needles are crap. Got rid of them and purchased some from a few years prior to replaced the epa needles. Part # 6L2-1432-00. Just in case anyone else wants to get rid of that epa crap. These are the same needles except for the fact you can adjust these and they have no caps. Ok so my question is. Are these air mixture screws or fuel mixture screws? If they are air mixture screws, bottomed out would be the richest setting and backed all the way out would be the leanest setting and vise versa if they are fuel mixture. If they are indeed air mixture, which I think they are, they would be adjusted bass akwards from a tradional mixture screw. I hope I have expressed this question clearly enough to understand. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also where would be the starting point to adjust. I dont think it would be the traditional 1 1/4 turns out because of how fine the threads are on the needles. Thanks in advance.

From what I understand some of the carbs have fixed fuel and air jets inside to regulate how much of each is metered together, the pilot screws just adjusts how much of that mix you allow into the motor
    Last edited by 99yam40; 02-02-2014, 03:13 PM.

Comment

Yamaha refers to it as an air adjusting screw. What do you think that it might be con*****ing?

I have heard of an EPA anti-tamper plug but not an EPA adjusting screw. The standard Yamaha screw is adjustable by turning it in or out to alter the air/fuel ratio.