Yamaha F225 Cracked Block w/pics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yamaha F225 Cracked Block w/pics

I purchased a boat last year that has a ‘03 F225 on it. It had 1430 hours on it when I bought it. Ran great, scoped for exhaust corrosion, and all cylinder compression was 190. I did not do a leak down test. My plan was to ride the motor out for a few years than repower. I knew the risks with corrosion ahead of time.

I started to notice oil on my transom well when the motor was up. After inspection I found a hairline crack on the block. The oil was slowly oozing out. The motor actually never lost much oil on the dipstick at all. There was never any performance differences with the motor. Since I’m inshore and always in sight of land, and a BOATUS member I decided to run it and monitor it. After 100 hours the oil lose is nominal. However it still does ooz slowly.

Could this crack be on the low pressure side? (Take it easy on me, I’m not a mechanic).
    Is there anything I can do to buy a little bit more time with the motor?
    Any intel or advice is greatly appreciated.

Disclaimer: I know the correct answer is to replace it. That is my plan. I just want to hear some thoughts on how it cracked and how much longer I have, and any ways to slow down the hemorrhaging. For all I know this was cracked before I purchased it, if that is possible.

I suspect that if the crack was on the pressure side there would be more oil flowing out. Hopefully, it is not on the pressurized side. Monitor the crack while the engine is idling to see if you can see oil flow.