charging , same question, different way. HELP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• charging , same question, different way. HELP

2001.. ox66..250...There are two positive leads coming off the motor. One is for the starting battery and one for the auxiliary house battery. Both leads are supposed to charge their respective battery. Question 1 > are the batteries isolated from each other ? Q #2 If they are isolated, what engine component keeps them isolated. OR should I have an isolator installed ?? There answer here will help me to figure out what is going on.

Thanks to anyone who can help me out here

I'm no expert and never saw your outboard, but I suspect the large lead is for powering the starting motor from the battery and the small lead is from the outboard's alternator for power to the boat. I've never fussed with ours, but now you got me curious and if it wasn't dark outside, I'd go and check.

Every "house" vs starting battery configuration I've seen happens outside the outboard. The simplest configuration and what we use is a manual two battery Perko selector switch.

Comment

switches

I have one selector switch for each motor ( 1-2-both-off) and one selector for the house batteries ( on-off) ...I guess what I am asking, If anyone knows, Do the motors have "built in " isolators that keep the house and starting batteries from discharging into each other ? And if so , What
      component on the motor would do that. I need to get into the bilge and really take a close look at the wiring ... I thought if someone had a little knowledge of what I am asking it would get me one step ahead. I was hoping one of the techs here would help put me on the right course. It's an older boat that is still fairly new to me.. I am sure batteries have been replaced and wiring moved around through the years. Thanks for your input , much appreciated

Comment

The two leads (main battery cable and isolator lead) are isolated from one another.