1990 yamaha 225 fuel pump problems?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1990 yamaha 225 fuel pump problems?

I'm a newbie here, first post. Last night I was cruising down the lake in my bass boat and engine just died. Think i ran out of fuel on one tank so switched to the other that is full. Now the motor won't start and run. It acts like its going to start If I squeeze the primer bulb but dies immediately. Checked the fuel filter and cleaned it but no help. I think my motor has three fuel pumps as it has three carbs. Its a 1990 225hp. No air or fuel leaks anywhere I can find. I use ethanol treatment in every tank and boat has always ran flawless, also keep it well maintained. I don't know best place to start diagnosis, if one pump fails does the motor just stop running or is it more likely a problem between fuel tank and fuel pumps? I don't know a lot about the technical aspects of the engine or fuel system. Any knowledgable suggestion would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

Have you pumped the hell out of the primer ball until it is as hard as a rock? You need to reprime the complete fuel system. All lines, the filter and all of the carburetors.

Comment

1990 yamaha 225 fuel pump problem?

Hey Boscoe thanks for the reply and the answer is yes. Pumped the bulb till it was very firm, it will start for just a second then die and bulb wil be ready to pump again after a few of these failed starts.

Comment

Have you had someone pump the primer ball before starting, during starting and after it has started to see if it will operate?

If the primer ball can be used to get the motor started but the motor won't continue to run, I would check the mechanical fuel pump(s).

It is strange that all of this started when you ran out of fuel and changed tanks. I am presuming that you have filled the empty tank and are trying to get the motor started on that tank.

Comment