1993 70 TLRR power loss issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1993 70 TLRR power loss issue

I've been stumping my toe on this problem for a couple of years now and am at my wits end. First I'll describe the problem, steps I've taken and what my certified Yamaha master mechanic suggests. I'm hoping, praying, someone can at least give me some ideas. I've posted on this engine before and some have given me good advice. Unfortunately, the issue still exists..

Problem:
    RPM loss when running over 4500 RPM for more than a mile or two. RPM drops to the mid-3000's and slowly loses from there until until either A) the engine sits off for an extended period of time, or B) the hood is removed for about 3-5 minutes and the engine is idled. After either one of those scenarios, it rockets off again. If the RPM's are held to 4500 or under, it will generally run all day unless the boat is loaded heavy or the water and air temps high. When I back it down at around 2000-2500 RPM (on the way down) the RPM's surge briefly. If I push the throttle all the way home, as in WOT, it begins dieing. In the winter and spring when the water is cool (about 80* and under) and the air temps are in the low-mid 80's or lower, the problem doesn't seem to exist. I can get 5800-5900 RPM under the right sea conditions WHEN THE PROBLEM DOES NOT EXIST. I'm running a Powertech SCD3-15 prop (if that helps). However, the engine itself does not seem to be overheating. No, I haven't taken it's temperature, but when the issue happens I can place my soft office hands on the top of the block and have a conversation while holding it there.

What I've done: