Having trouble removing steering cable

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Having trouble removing steering cable

I have a 90hp yamaha 2cycle outboard and I am having a lot of trouble removing the steering cable, it seems to be stuck inside the tube. When I removed the steering guide the cable seemed to move fine. Am I overlooking something?

if you have unscewed the big nut on the starboard side the cable should come out, some times they are stuck. if you have to hammer it out put a bolt in the hole of the steering cable so you dont collapse the hole, good luck.

Comment

Hello to all, just signed up cause i seem to find alot of good info here, anyways, I'm a newbie to boat mtx/repair and I'm running into the same issue as stated in this post. I have a 98 Yamaha 90 2 stroke and I'm trying to replace the steering cable, however it's jammed pretty good in the steering tube. I've read in other threads that you can heat the component with a propane torch....my question is where exactly do you apply the heat and for how long? If I screw this up whats the worst case scenario? thanks for any help...newbie

Comment

Originally posted by 98Cobia17flats View Post
        Hello to all, just signed up cause i seem to find alot of good info here, anyways, I'm a newbie to boat mtx/repair and I'm running into the same issue as stated in this post. I have a 98 Yamaha 90 2 stroke and I'm trying to replace the steering cable, however it's jammed pretty good in the steering tube. I've read in other threads that you can heat the component with a propane torch....my question is where exactly do you apply the heat and for how long? If I screw this up whats the worst case scenario? thanks for any help...newbie
        I wouldn't be heating anything in that area. For heat to work, you'd have to heat the outer, engine pivot (where the engine swings up and down on).