2006 Ymaha F150 Balancer Noise?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2006 Ymaha F150 Balancer Noise?

Hello everyone, I am new to this awsome website. I hope someone here can help me diagnose a noise coming from my 2006 F150 4 stroke. Last weekend I noticed a high pitch whine while my motor was idling at the boat ramp. It concerned me because I have read on this site about the possible balancer assembly issue in 2004 -2006 yr model F-150's. Today I changed my oil and ran motor with cowling off. With cowling off the noise is much more noticeable. I sprayed silicon on the drive shaft hoping it was the driveshaft bushing. No luck. I took a video of it running with my IPhone and created the link below. The video is terrible but I am hoping someone here can listen to it and determine if I am at risk. About half way through the clip i put my phone close to the front of motor and you can really hear it. I have a big fishing trip planned next week and this would spoil the trip. Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

Yamaha F150 Balancer - YouTube

yimminys
    ya should have heard that HOURS ago.
    remove the balancer and inspect for missing driven gear teeth.
    if all are still there then you will need a balancer.
    balancer is just under about 350.
    you will also need the tech bulliten about balancer replacement and a tube of gel seal or loctite 518 and a torque wrench.
    takes an hour or so.

Comment

I was afraid of that. I just checked my paperwork and my extended warranty expires 3/6/2013!!! I will have it at the dealer in the moring.

Rodbolt -thank you for taking the time to listen to my engine. I have read many of your post and appreciate you sharing your knowledge and expertise!

Thanks again!

Comment

warrenty card is even better
        means its free.

Comment