Carb Cleaning - I am in too deep to turn back

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carb Cleaning - I am in too deep to turn back

Well I tried a few things to get my '87 Yamaha 70hp going but no luck. I decided to dig in and removed the carbs and seperated them. So far so good. I marked each carb as to its position in the order and am now ready to disassemble.

Here is my dilemma - get a gallon of carb dip and clean or rebuild? I am about out of expendable cash and thought I might be able to save the $150 my local Yamaha dealer is asking for kits for all 3 carbs ($50 ea. Carb). A poster )has same motor as me) on a fishing forum I visit said he ran across the same problem - he bought a gallon of dip and cleaned all 3 carbs and says his motor now runs better than it ever has.

I would like opinions as I am a novice - is there any reason not to try the cleaning method first? Can I get by without the kits?

I have cleaned my carbs 6 times without the kits. Be sure to not get any cleaner on the gaskets because this will over time destroy them. Be sure to check and make sure the gaskets are in good condition prior to re installing them also. Clean carbs really really good and let them soak over night. Take them out and dry them and if possible use compressed air to blow residual cleaner out. Then re install gaskets and put them back on your motor and u should be good as new.
    Carolina Skiff 16' JVX
    50 Yamaha TLR

Comment

Keith is correct, I have cleaned the 3 carbs on my 90 hp 2 times and only had to replace (1) $2 O-ring, be sure to leave the throttle linkage attached to the bottom carb or mark it, mine will go on either way, if it doesnt go on the same way the carbs will not be in synch. also, dont make any adjustments to the carbs, and be sure to remove both jets, when I finished my boat ran 6 mph faster and performed much better

Comment

Originally posted by Haynick1 View Post