Buy Yamaha Outboard Parts

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Shade Tree Mech Help On Yamaha F9.9 Outboard.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shade Tree Mech Help On Yamaha F9.9 Outboard.

First of all I am a shade tree mechanic...I had started up my Yamaha F9.9 outboard while connected to a garden hose. I placed it in forward gear and began revving it up not knowing that It would overheat without being submerged in water. Anyway the repair shop says it no longer has compression and that it would cost more for them to repair than it is worth ($1'000.00). Whats the chances of me repairing it myself. Does anyone know where I could find a rebuild manual etc. for this motor?
    (1986 Yamaha F9.9SJ 4 stroke outboard)

Not that you would call it a rebuild manual, but they are Yamaha service manuals
    YAMAHA MANUAL STORE

There are also aftermarket ones that some think are OK, but they normally cover too many years and HP models for my liking.

How long and hard did you run that motor on the hose attachment to destroy it?
    And was it a flush hook up on power head or the one on the suction intake of the water pump?

Comment

You didn't tell us the symptoms that caused you to take it to a shop. Did it just stop running and not restart or temporarily sieze? It might just be a simple blown head gasket, you could pull the head and check if it is still straight and look at the cylinder walls while it's off. Sounds like a good project for this time of year.

Comment

I had hooked up the garden hose to the water check plug input located on the lower casing just above the anti-cavitation plate. I was able to get the motor started and allowed it to idle for 10 minutes or so. At that point I placed it in forward gear and began to rev the motor up...6 or 7 times (high short revs) during one of the revs I heard a clank and the motor stopped. I was able to pull the manual start cord however the motor never again would fire.