Yamaha F80TLRB alarm goes off

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yamaha F80TLRB alarm goes off

Hi everybody I'm new at this so please help. Took the boat out and engine shut down, open the cover and there was fire melt down at the terminal cover. Towed the boat home, open the cover and found rectifier burn caused CDI, wire and air intake to melt too. After replacing all of these thing, ran the motor, water came out pretty hard, so no problem. On the last trip, after about 5 minutes of idle the overheat/oil alarm goes off. Turn off the motor and the engine block felt warm to touch, so turn on the motor again, pee hole has strong water flow, no alarm sound. In about 5 minutes, alarm goes off again even at low rpm, but if at high rpm, the alarm would go off quicker (2 to 3 minutes). What should I do next, any suggestions, Please help. Thanks

It would help if you told us what kind of preventative maintenance you have performed on this motor in the past.

I would say replace water pump, stat, and PRV.
    Inspect and clean passages if needed.

Comment

Yamaha F80TLRB alarm goes off

I just bought this boat and the only thing I did before taking it out was new oil change. You suggest that to change: impeller, thermostat and pressure release valve (where is this valve located). Thanks

Comment

Eventhough the water out the pee hole is strong, I should change impeller anyway? Thanks

Comment

If you do not know when it was changed last then replace all the things that Yamaha recommends as regular preventative maintenance. Indicator stream is just that an indicator that water is flowing , not that it is enough.

You can pull and test the stats and temp switch or sensor to make sure they function properly and replace if needed.
          Look for corrosion in the passages to see if you will need to pull motor apart to clean cooling passages.