Bent propshaft

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bent propshaft

Hi guys, Sorry if I'm doing this wrong, but new here!

Basically I've got a 1997 225hp saltwater series, and the propshaft is bent, as in you can see the end of it moving up and down when you turn it by hand. I spoke to an outboard mechanic, who said not to worry about it, but surely this will be causing vibration issues, flogging out seals and bearings etc? Not to mention affecting performance?

While working on it today, I tilted the motor down, and oil (yellowy colour) dribbled out of the holes (one on either side) above the top oil fill plug in gearbox. I thought they were water holes?

My questions are, should I be worrying about it? Is the oil leaking out the top a sign that the seals are knackered?

And if I need to get a new prop shaft, is it possible that I can do it myself? (I'm an engineer, and used to be a car mechanic, so have a reasonable idea of whats what) If so, What parts will I need? Prop shaft? new bearings? new seals?

Sorry for the long winded post, just trying to explain myself, and as I'm in New Zealand, would need to order the right parts first time, so the boats not stranded for months waiting for more parts to arrive!

Thanks for any help!
    1997 Yamaha 225hp Saltwater Series II.
    From Auckland, New Zealand

If it doesn't vibrate, then maybe go ahead and run it, as is. Check your lower end fluid for leakage of seals. You could probably change the prop shaft, but that bearing carrier may be difficult to remove, especially if motor has been in saltwater all these years. If the motor is running O.K., I'd be prone to just leave it alone. Good Luck!

Comment

Hi,

Thanks for the reply!

I'll try and get it out on the water this weekend and take it for a run to see if theres any vibration. Also will check oil level!

Will report back with my findings!

Thanks

Comment