Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2005 Yamaha F25

Hi
    I'm new to this forum and of course looking for some advice. I have a 2005 f25 Yamaha outboard that I have been running for the last 6 years without any major issues. My annual maintenance is new plugs oil changes (upper and lower), fuel filter and water separator filter. With the exception of a flat spot when accelerating it has run like a top.
    This spring after my maintenance ritual(this year I put in a finer water separator filter) I had a tough time starting it and at low speeds it would idle rough and occasionally stall. I ran a gallon of gas (93 octane) mixed with a generous amount of Sea Foam carb cleaner. for a while I thought it did the trick but on my last fishing trip running the motor at low speed(*****ing) was lower than usual to the point of making little headway. Still it accelerated fine and ran perfectly above minimum speed.
    First sorry for the long post. I tried not to leave anything out.
    Where should I start carburetor or fuel pump?
    thanks

Sounds like the carb is partially clogged.

As you have higher RPM's, the fuel pump is probably fine.

I'd pull the carb, all the jets, and clean spotless. Just spraying carb cleaner W/O visually inspecting don't count.

Carb is pretty basic:

http://www.boats.net/parts/search/Ya...TOR/parts.html

*Storing W/O draining the carb (drain plug on float bowl) allows fuel to remain and clog jets, especially ethanol fuel...

And BTW, there's NEVER too much information, it all helps!

Last edited by TownsendsFJR1300; 05-28-2017, 06:52 PM.
    Scott
    1997 Angler 204, Center Console powered by a 2006 Yamaha F150TXR

Comment

Thanks Scott
      I'll give it a try. First I'll order up some gaskets.

Comment

o rings gaskets usually can be reused.
        Myself I would take apart and clean, inspect and buy only what is needed

Comment

I assume you installed a 2 micron fuel filter in place of a 10 micron?