yamaha 70hp two stroke problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• yamaha 70hp two stroke problem

hello everyone, I have just joined this forum, I am a self employed pc tech living in in northern Ireland and just recently bought a used rib with a 96 70hp 2 stroke yamaha outboard. after taking the boat out for a trial run the outboard would only run at low speed as soon as the throttle was opened up to half way the motor cut back to low speed again. I serviced the motor by checking the fuel system etc. now when I run the motor in a water barrel, it seems to run ok apart from smoke coming from underneath the forward part of the cowl, I then removed the apron around same and after starting the motor again there didnt seem to be any damage to the lower gasket, the smoke was coming from between the cowl and transom. can anybody throw any light on this, thanks.

Originally posted by wellman1 View Post
    the smoke was coming from between the cowl and transom. can anybody throw any light on this, thanks.
    can you not see where it is coming from?
    hard for us on this side of computer screen to look for where it is coming from

Comment

If you can snap an accurate picture and post it here would help.
      Scott
      1997 Angler 204, Center Console powered by a 2006 Yamaha F150TXR

Comment

yamaha 70hp two stroke problem

I will try and take a picture with the motor running, but the smoke seems to be coming from a vent below the crankcase and is not as bad when the motor warms up, I put my finger into the vent which is about 3 inch long and it looks like it is a channel going towards the transom.

Comment

Originally posted by 99yam40 View Post
          can you not see where it is coming from?
          hard for us on this side of computer screen to look for where it is coming from
          Here is an attached pic with motor running.
          Attached Files

Comment