Late 90s Yamaha 90hp and Tach troubleshooting

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Late 90s Yamaha 90hp and Tach troubleshooting

Hi, hoping that someone will be able to help me. I am a total novice when it comes to boat maintenance.

I have a Merry Fisher 580 built in 1998 with a Yamaha 2 stroke 90hp outboard. There is a multi-function tachometer which is no longer working. The wiring Iooks ok ( all the wires from the outboard are aligned with the tachometer wires with colours matching) but I am struggling to troubleshoot as I do not have any manual. I presume the issue could be with the outboard or the tach or perhaps the battery connection.

I want to try to validate model numbers of the outboard as a starting point. And also the tach. I wonder is there anyone here who could help based on photos?

I think the outboard is a B90TLRW but I cannot be certain as the writing on the ID plate has worn away. No serial number available either. I would order a manual but ideally would like to be able to make sure I order the right one.

Based on internet searches, I think the tach is a 6Y5-8350T-83-00. I don't want to remove the tach to look for a exact model number just yet. I would prefer to be able to do the research first, if at all possible.

I am attaching some photos of the engine, the tach and some wiring at the back of the tach. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Adrian
    Outside photo Lid off engine Tach

Couple of additional photos

Comment

That is a pre -83 tachometer.

If it does not work with battery + and - applied directly to the yellow and black wires respectively then it has failed internally.

Power comes from the battery to the motor through a fuse to the ten pin harness and on to the key switch. From the key switch to the tachometer via a fused harness.

www.gaugesaver.com

Comment

Thank you, Boscoe99.