Overheat alarm early and continuous

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overheat alarm early and continuous

We have a 2008 F50TLR that very quickly begins to sound the overheat alarm and go into limp mode. The tell tale is very strong and I replaced the thermostat. I thought it might be a false alarm due to a defective sensor, so pulled that and mapped the resistance/temp. Anyone know where I can find the spec for this? I get about 2150 ohms at 60 deg F going to 200 ohms at 200 deg F, and starting at a rate of about 25 ohms/deg and getting down to about 2.5 ohm/deg at the highest temps.

The background is that I have been assigned to the watercraft committee at the co-op boat club I belong to. We own various race patrol and workboats with about half a dozen 15 hp and the same of 40-60 hp outboards. All Yamahas and all 4 stroke. I was assigned to this work service position (the club is operated by member volunteers) because I was a professional auto mechanic for many years, and still have nicely stocked Snap-On roll cab. But I'm not as familiar with outboards, and clearly can't use my OBD scanners to look at the ECU.

I've searched and read many posts here and did see the spec mentioned but not specified. The only manual we have is for an earlier model with an open/closed temp switch spec. Since we have 40s 50s and 60s some carbureted, some FI bought over 10 years, I hesitate to buy a manual for each motor especially since I'm not sure this sec would be included, and because they get aged out periodically and we may have a new one or two in the fleet next year if we find the repairs on the couple that are down right now are going to be prohibitively expensive.

I see a lot YDS software and cabling on Ebay but hesitate not knowing what versions or cabling I may need for these motors. I think only 4 of our motors have ECUs and two of them are brand new so off my radar, and which may need some different versions.