'01 250HP OX66 Surging at 3700RPM

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• '01 250HP OX66 Surging at 3700RPM

Hello all. I'm relatively new to the big outboard world (tons of experience with inboards/sterndrives). But, I've been extremely impressed with the way this 250HP OX66 is performing on the back (bracket mounted) of a Grady 24' Offshore that I rebuilt (floor, bulkheads, etc) over the winter. Here's the one issue I'm having that I can't quite figure out...

At approx 3700RPM (running in very calm seas and a light load), after a few minutes, the RPM's will drop to 3500 for about 20 seconds, then back up to 3700 for about 20 seconds, and then continue to repeat like that. It's almost like clockwork the way it happens.

I had a long run at about 3800 - 4200 RPM's and this never happened. It only seems to be happening at 3700... but I'm still new to the engine so I don't want to say with "certainty" that this is the case. But, none the less, it does seem to be happening consistently at 3700.

The fuel is clean (both engine mounted filter and inline fuel/water sep where changed). I also dumped fuel out of the f/w sep and it was good. The previous owner (and now myself) always use Startron and RingFree.

Thanks for any guidance!
    Last edited by DennisG01; 07-20-2014, 06:42 PM.
    2000 Yamaha OX66 250HP SX250TXRY 61AX103847T
    1982 Grady Weekender/Offshore (removed stern drive & modded to be an OB)

just how old is the fuel?
    since you have been working on rebuilding the boat the fuel may be fairly old,
    even treated fuel will not last forever.

Rig up a portable tank with fresh fuel to make sure your fuel and or tank/lines are not a problem.

monitoring fuel pressures while problem is showing should direct you if there are problems with the fuel delivery
    Last edited by 99yam40; 07-20-2014, 07:51 AM.

Comment