X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maintenance of motor that has hardly been used! Yamaha 70cv

Hello!
    Yamaha newbie here.. already a big fan!

Just bought a new boat with a 70cv Yamaha 4 stroke: 2012.

Previous 2 owners have navigated just 2h with the boat... YES!! just 2 hours in 7 years!

So, after the first hour, the boat was not rinsed or used.. the second owner purchased the boat and did an hour.. rinsed the motor and then didnt use the boat again.. he has not done much maintenance and boat has been stocked in a dry lot :

2 years ago :

- Fuel filter
    - Water pump changed
    - Bottom joints changed

I have turned over the boat in the bucket, starts and turns over nicely, but, i dont want to navigate until the motor has had all of the necessary servicing/pieces changed..

I am just looking for advice to what exactly I need to get done, i have planned on asking for :

- Oil and filter changed
    - Cam belt : usually ever 4 years?
    - Thermostat checked and replaced if needed?
    - Water pump changed? It has been sitting in same position for 2 years but never used
    - Spark plugs?

Anything else to check/change ?

Thanks for any advice.. much appreciated!

The water pump probably has some "set" in it. Wouldn't hurt to change it out. R&R the LU oil while at it.

Oil and filter, cam belt should be fine.

Inspect the thermostat, especially if it sat / used in salt water, un-flushed...

Then follow break in procedures!
    Scott
    1997 Angler 204, Center Console powered by a 2006 Yamaha F150TXR

Comment

What type of fuel tank do you have in this boat? Internal or external/portable? I would be more concerned with good clean fuel delivery than anything else.

Comment

Originally posted by pstephens46 View Post
        What type of fuel tank do you have in this boat? Internal or external/portable? I would be more concerned with good clean fuel delivery than anything else.
        yes!

Welcome to the forum and congrats on your new old boat.