Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1986 yamaha 150 pro v

Hello
    My name is Howard Williams and I have read many post involving 150 pro V. I also have followed many post . If I may ask for a few minutes of your time to ask a few questions about my 150. I bought this engine for a great price 6 months ago. I have not had it on the water yet due to my desire to go through it firsthand. I am a novice mechanic but am learning quick. Now I did run it on muffs barely and went from there. The carbs were totally unable to work due to the gunk in them. Fuel full of water and totally went thru lower unit with new seals and water pump etc. Thermostat are stuck and being replaced. New carb kits arrived and to be installed. All fuel lines are replaced and 2 fuel pumps on the way. Seams the further I investigate the more I find. Rather find it now than on the water. So with that history so far I decided to remove the oil system and premix until I can replace the system with new. I have removed the engine tank and all the lines then 6 plugs at carbs and the pump shaft then covered with gasket and plate. I have the wiring left and need to know what to do from here. Also how do I check timing. I am I over thinking by maybe pulling heads and checking the water Chanel's .
    I did compression check before running it and got 95 on all 6. Now what I do was pull plugs and turn it over for the compression check. Maybe I did it wrong.
    Thanks for y'all time.
    ​​​​​​​1986 pro v 150

Rather than remove the oil system, why not just service it and continue using it? it's worked for a couple of decades!

Comment

what did you do to fix the starter?
      It is always a good idea to up date a thread you start when you come up with a solution.

the service manual should have a lot of info, did you get one.

timing check can be done just like on a car with a timing light